top of page

Welcome our New VP, Mr Haresh Sivaram

Dear fellow alumni,

 

It’s such a privilege to be back. When I first found out I was to be posted to the college I felt a mixed bag of emotions, excited about the opportunity to give back to a school that has played a huge part in nurturing me, but at the same time nervous about the new role, new challenges, and the steep path that lay ahead. My nerves were quickly calmed. Familiar spaces and faces (former teachers and some of my own cohort mates who are themselves educators in the college), who welcomed me with such warmth, have made the transition so much easier.


Haresh (left) with fellow NJC School Leaders.

On my first day back, I went straight to three places on campus that hold special memories for me. Let me explain why…


Under LT5

The Council Room was my first stop because of how being in Student Council played such a large role during my time here as a student. I will never forget the high energy and spirit with which we organised college events. And we were a daring lot – we didn’t settle for the status quo and were always pushing boundaries with our zany ideas. The same level of passion, commitment and creativity is there among today’s student councillors. In the past five months, I’ve walked away from our many conversations feeling inspired by their ideas and stories of growth and self-discovery. The interactions also remind me of the role we NJC educators play to nurture our students to discover their strengths and aspirations. We’ve been consistently updating our leadership development framework, processes and programmes to keep these relevant. In this next season, we’ll explore questions like what leadership even means or looks like in today’s context. Exciting work ahead on this front!


With fellow councillors at the 2003 Seniors’ Prom Night, which was organised by the Student Council.

Water Pits and Steeplechasing

Next stop, the running track and grandstand, because the other great love of my life as a student was running for the college’s track and field team. Admittedly it was tough balancing this with my commitments as a student councillor, but my understanding teammates spurred me on. Trackers cheered for one another during training sessions to keep each other going even when we were exhausted ourselves. And I’ll never forget how my fellow steeplechasers and I desperately tried to fill up the water pit using buckets and a best-effort long water hose that was made up by connecting shorter hoses with duct tape. We failed but had a ball of a time trying. This family spirit of giving our best to each other has remained the mainstay of our co-curricular activities (CCAs). As I am writing this article the National School Games (NSG) are ongoing, and our performing arts groups, clubs and societies are organising various concerts and events. It is so heartwarming to watch our students in their element, doing the things they love with joy and pride. And yet they remain so humble and grateful when they achieve greatness, and always celebrate the community they belong to in their CCAs. This is the heart and soul of our college – the people. We all have our own unique NJC story, but in all of our stories are certain common threads – the values that matter to us as a college. It is these that make NJC our second home.


2004 NJC Steeplechasers

Food and Friends

It is this sense of community and fellowship that led me to my third and final stop on my walk around campus on my first day back – the canteen.  That, and the fact that I was quite hungry by now.  The canteen was where I connected the most with fellow NJCians, like my classmates from 03S14. We were a boisterous, and perhaps mildly rebellious bunch, but I would say good hearted and well-meaning too. The times we spent together were filled with chatter and laughter, because we certainly enjoyed each other’s company.  But perhaps also because we didn’t have anything else to distract us, by which I mean smartphones. Smartphones have tremendous potential for good but they can also become a poison if we allow ourselves to be hooked to using them to pass time (think doomscrolling). I was recently asked by a student what was one hope that I had for the NJCians of today. My answer – for NJCians to experience what its like to be fully present in the moment, to immerse themselves in the reality of the sights, sounds and smells around them, especially in nature, and to really interact with one another in the good old-fashioned way of face-to-face conversations. And what a privilege it would be to involve alumni in this too, for our students to share their thoughts and ideas with you and learn from your rich life experiences post-NJC (over food of course!).




03S14, at Orientation 2003 (left) and class photo taking 2004 (right)


I look forward to meeting all of you in the months to come. And we don’t have to wait too long to meet because there’s Funtasia! Do join us on 11 May, 10am-3pm as we gather for a fun-filled day while doing good. All proceeds from the sale of Funtasia coupons will go to supporting the programmes of the two Eden Centres for Adults, under the Autism Association (Singapore). Hope to see you then!

 

Service with Honour

Haresh Sivaram

NJC Class of 2004

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page