top of page

Interview Ms Ng Qihui


“I believe that the purpose of education is to provide the child with the values and skills they need for their roles in life... I will not miss the opportunity to be on the ground with my students to see them through their learning.” - Ms. Ng Qihui

Ms Ng Qihui, our Subject Head (Values-in-Action) was a finalist for the Outstanding Youth in Education Award (OYEA) 2016. The OYEA is a national award that recognises excellent young educators for their enthusiasm, energy and active involvement in the development of youth. This is the first time that a NJC teacher was selected as a finalist for the award.

As Subject Head, Qihui is instrumental in the development and infusion of Values-in-Action and community outreach programmes as a regular fixture in the College’s Character and Citizenship Education Curriculum. As a PE teacher in NJC for the past eight years, she is an educator who walks the talk, whether it be running and training with her students or leading them in local community projects or overseas VIA and leadership expeditions.

We sat down with her amidst her busy schedule to hear her thoughts about her nomination as an OYEA finalist and being a teacher in NJC.

What were your first thoughts when you found out that you were selected as a finalist for the OYEA? ​

When I first knew that the college nominated me for the award, I was pleasantly surprised and grateful for the recognition given by the College. To be selected as an OYEA finalist, it was really unexpected and I really appreciate the chance given.

As a student, was there a teacher who inspired you to be a better educator?

I wouldn’t say that there was a particular teacher who inspired me to be a better educator but there have been many teachers who have made an impact on me and influenced me to be a better person. This is especially true for my Junior College teachers. I am actually an alumnus of National Junior College.

Mr. Yong Yuen Cheng, my Canoeing CCA teacher-in-charge is someone who is always on the ground, keeping a close eye on the students’ development. He is firm and always makes sure that we have the right values. He ensures that all of us benefit from our experience as a canoeist, especially in terms of our overall development.

I also remember my PE teacher, Mr. Frankie Tan, who goes beyond the curriculum to educate us on nutrition and the rationale and specifics of training techniques during our PE lessons. He made sure that there was something useful that we can take away with us at the end of his lessons.

Teachers like Mdm. Woon Yoke Fun and Mr. Low Kwee Peng have also made a deep impression on me. Mdm Woon, who taught me Higher Chinese, was very encouraging and patient. She often exposed us to different forms of literature to inspire us. As for Mr. Low Kwee Peng, he was always a pillar of support to his students and treated us as young adults.

Having organised many local and OVIA activities in College, is there a particular VIA activity that stands out for you?

My OVIA trip to Siem Reap in 2010 would probably stand out the most. It was my first time leading students on an OVIA trip and it was a good experience for me to learn something new.

We understand that you are an alumnus of the College. What was school like for you as a NJC student?

I still remember my days as a Canoeist, doing push ups amidst our training in Kallang as well as Mr Yong’s many hours of long debriefs during our training camps. I still meet up with my canoeing buddies to reminisce about our NJC days.

I remember spending many hours studying at King Albert Park’s MacDonald’s and the school library till 9pm during A Levels preparations. I also remembered some of the memorable speeches during the Council Elections that were delivered by equally interesting characters. Finally, the Cai Fan (Mixed Vegatables Stall) uncle and auntie never fail to provide me with affordable yet nutritious food during my school days - I still eat at their stall till this day!

Finally, with the examinations around the corner, what advice would like to give to our student readers?

I remember that the A Levels was the toughest part for me as a student, even when I was doing my part-time Masters as the A Level content is so heavy. However, there are so many things that you can learn from the journey itself. Because of this, I believe that once you can complete the A Levels, you can accomplish anything.

Read up more about Ms Ng’s nomination and educator’s journey here.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page